And Along Came Lola

*The names in this post have been changed because she would kick my arse if I manage to sway stalkers in her direction*

There’s that one person you meet and after the first 5 minutes you know for a fact that they’re going to be your best friend. That was the case with Lola. Honestly? I don’t remember how I first met her. Maybe through a friend, or was it a class we shared? I don’t remember. What I do remember is that when I first met her, I thought to myself “I’ve found my partner-in-crime.” 

Lola is, what the rest of the Brits thought was an abuse, a ‘ginger’. That is to say, she is of Irish descent and is a redhead. There’s this thing you ought to know about redheads: they are a huge bundle of crazy and awesome. I remember, she used to help out all sorts of people, and fight with the most ridiculous of them. 

Her friends really love her, and so do I. She is a big bundle of joy; a bundle of joy who might cackle like a witch or throw spatulas at you. I don’t know what the rest of the people in our school were thinking, but she and I made it to the “Most Likely to take over the world” list of our yearbook. Now, if you think about it, it was kind of racist: she was Irish, I was Indian. And the dimwits that we are, we didn’t realize that until four years after we’d passed our GCSEs. But we’ve been plotting our moves and planning to take over the world with Starbucks and Zombies. It’s a start but given enough incentive we might actually take over the world.

It’s been a little over four years since I last saw her. But I’ve noticed that as time flew, we’ve grown as individuals and we’ve really come to care more and more for each other. I think that’s something of an accomplishment. Sure, I have nightmares of the day I meet her again. The day we meet there is going to be a chain reaction of weird and crazy in whatever part of the world we are in. 

She comes to me for crappy advice and I rant out my frustration at her, on occasion. It’s amazing how far away places and different timezones don’t come in the way of friendship. That can be said of many of my friends now, but with Lola it’s always been something more fantastic. We’ve know each other at our worst and our best. That’s a friendship you can’t have by looking. That kind of friendship grows naturally, as it should. 

I didn’t have any purpose in writing this post (other than the fact that she told me to write about her and I’m terrified of what she’ll do if I didn’t), but I do want the world to know what it is like to have such an amazing friend. I do love her like family. She is my best friend. Sometimes I feel that she exaggerates her hardship too much, but I guess that’s only because she is naive and doesn’t really know how many people actually care for her and look out for her. She is one lucky girl, and I am lucky to have her in my life. 

Note to Lola:

Lola, hear me out: I’m so glad you have Adam Brand in your life now. You deserve each other and mind you, I will say this only once: Do NOT fuck this up! I’ll have your head on a spike if you do. Also, I wanted you to find out here that I’ve already made plans for September 2014 and with a little bit of help from your end, we’ll have plenty of time to catch up and finish a few bottles of wine and whiskey. 

I miss you, and I ought to let you know that I’ve gathered a few baristas here in the Bay Area who will help us take over the world. Sounds good?

 

Leave a Reply

